For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The Amsterdam Centre for Tax Law (ACTL) is the tax law research centre of the University of Amsterdam.
About ACTL
Learn more about ACTL

ACTL members conduct research into various subjects of tax law, with a strong emphasis on Corporate Taxation, International Tax Law and European Tax Law. Within the University of Amsterdam, the ACTL is considered a Centre of Excellence. The research of the ACTL belongs to the “private and Public European law priority area”, which is one of the Amsterdam Law School research priority areas.

Conferences, Courses and Advanced Master's in International Tax Law

The ACTL regularly organizes (international) conferences, seminars, courses and is participating in the Advanced Master's in International Tax Law: Principles, Policy and Practice.

Tax sovereignty versus globalisation

ACTL research currently focuses on the tension between tax sovereignty and globalisation, which falls under the Amsterdam Law School's research priority area, Private and Public European Law. Details of ACTL's research programme are available on the centre's research page.


The centre currently houses 28 scholars, including full time faculty and PhD candidates. In addition, several external researchers are associated with the ACTL. It has awarded nine doctoral degrees in the past five years.

Prof. dr. S. (Stef) van Weeghel is currently the interim director of the ACTL.

ACTL co-operated

The ACTL is one of the founders of the Group for Research on European and International Taxation (GREIT), a collaboration between the ACTL and researchers from various universities in the EU. The core universities of the GREIT are: Lisbon University (Portugal), Lund University (Sweden), Vienna University of Economics and Business (Austria), the University of Amsterdam (the Netherlands) and the University of Salerno (Italy). Other universities which participate in the GREIT are: European University Institute (Italy); Johannes Kepler University of Linz (Austria), the IE Law School and the IE Center for European Studies, Madrid (Spain) and Münster University (Germany). 

Outside the EU, the ACTL co-operates with universities and tax institutes from various parts of the world, such as the New York University (USA), FGV Rio (Brazil), the Malaysian Tax Academy (Malaysia), Universidad del Rosario (Colombia) and the Central University of Finance and Economics (China).